Find It
Some of the databases have full-text and you click on a HTML or PDF link or image to retrieve the full text.
If the item in not full text within the citation, you will see a
icon of in many of the databases. This icon helps you retrieve the full-text article.
Click on this icon and if the full-text is available at the UMD library, another window will open with "Full text from database name" (often more than one database). Click on the Full text from to retrieve article.
If the full-text is not available through UMD databases, you will see "Sorry, we don't have an online copy, but...."
For "Find It" instructions, click on down arrow on "Find Articles" tab.
Locating Articles
If the "Find It" icon is not available in a database. The following steps can be taken to obtain the item:
E-Journal Locator- searches to see if journal full-text within UMD databases
Library Catalog- checks to see if library owns in print, microfilm or online.
Interlibrary Loan - get item from another library.
PubMed Help
PubMed Tutorials
Tutorials online to help you search PubMed
Handouts
General
- Academic OneFile Interdisciplinary index of major academic periodicals.

- Academic Search Premier Interdisciplinary index to academic journals; provides full-content for over 3400 titles. Paid for by Electronic Library of Minnesota.

Social Work
- Social Work Abstracts (EBSCO)
Indexes articles in the social work profession and areas of service. 
- Social Services Abstracts Indexes current research articles focused on social work, human services, social welfare, social policy, and community development.

- Sociological Abstracts Indexes articles in sociology and social policy.

- PsycINFO Indexes more than 1,400 journals on psychology, psychiatry, sociology, education, linguistics and physiology.

- Google Scholar -- UMD Students, Faculty & Staff Locate and access peer-reviewed journal articles and other scholarly sources. For access to FindIt off campus or on wireless change Google Scholar preferences on your computer.
- Web of Science Online versions of ISI's citation indexes--Science Citation Index, Social Sciences Citation Index, and Arts & Humanities Citation Index.

- Professional Collection (Education) Includes more than 300 full text journals for educators.

Medicine/Health
- PubMed -- UMD Students, Staff & Faculty
- Native Health Databases "The Native Health Databases contain bibliographic information and abstracts of health-related articles, reports, surveys, and other resource documents pertaining to the health and health care of American Indians, Alaska Natives, and Canadian First Nations. The databases provide information for the benefit, use, and education of organizations and individuals with an interest in health-related issues, programs, and initiatives regarding North American indigenous peoples".
- Entrez The ENTREZ Cross-Database Search allows you to search simultaneously across multiple biomedical/life science databases.
- Consumer Health Complete
Contains consumer-oriented health content. - Health Source: Consumer Edition (EBSCO) Provides access to the full-text of over 190 journals covering authoritative health information for consumers. Several health books and over 1000 health-related pamphlets are also available. Coverage varies.

- Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition Provides nearly 550 scholarly full text journals focusing on many medical disciplines. Also features the Lexi-PAL Drug Guide.

Education
- ERIC (Cambridge Scientific Abstracts) Index to educational materials.

- ERIC (EBSCO) ERIC contains more than 1,282,000 records and links to more than 314,000 full-text documents.

- ERIC (Education Resources Information Center) Full-text for many ERIC (ED) documents, 1996 - present
- Educator's Reference Complete (Gale) More than 450 full-text academic journals, hundreds of full-text reports, and many premier reference sources. Focuses on educational principles, child development and psychology, and best practices in education. Paid for by Electronic Library of Minnesota.

- Professional Collection (Education) Includes more than 300 full text journals for educators.

- Professional Development Collection (EBSCO) Provides a collection a nearly 518 full text journals (522 peer-reviewed), in addition to indexing and abstracting 728 journals (353 peer-reviewed), and educational reports for professional educators. Full text coverage varies.

- Dissertations & Theses Doctoral dissertations, including full-text of Big Ten universities from 1997 to present.
All Databases
The UMD Library provides access to numerous databases that relate to specific subjects/disciplines. While the general databases are good starting points for your research, be sure to familiarize yourself with the databases in your subject area.
Reference Librarian |
Martha Eberhart![]() | ![]() | ![]() | ![]() |
Contact Info:
University of Minnesota Library
416 Library Drive
264 Library
Duluth, MN 55812-3001
218-726-8733
meberhar@d.umn.edu
Send Email
Description
Loading content... please wait









Loading content... please wait