This is the "Home" page of the "History, Minnesota" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

History, Minnesota  

Selected bibliography of books about the history of Minnesota.
Last Updated: Jan 7, 2014 URL: http://libguides.d.umn.edu/MinnesotaHistory Print Guide RSS Updates
Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Selected bibliography on Minnesota history

Archives and Special Collections University of Minnesota Duluth Library, Annex 202,  416 Library Drive, Duluth, Minnesota 55812-3001
Phone: (218) 726-8526  E-mail: pmaus@d.umn.edu

The Aborigines of Minnesota; a report based on the collections Jacob V. Brower, and on the field surveys and notes of Alfred J. Hill and Theodore H. Lewis, edited by Newton H. Winchell. Minnesota Historical Society, 1911, 761 p.

Electronic Access http://conservancy.umn.edu/handle/56589

UM DULUTH Library VOY E78.M7 M6

Atlas of Great Lakes Indian History, edited by Helen Tanner. The Civilization of the American Indian Series; v. 174. University of Oklahoma Press, 1987, 224 p.

UM DULUTH Library Book E78.G7 A87 1987

UM DULUTH Library REF E78.G7 A87 1987

UM DULUTH Library NE MN Historical Center Folio E78.G7A87 1986

Bovey: A Century of Change, by Donald L. Boese and Patricia J. Walls, The City of Bovey, Minn., 2004, 353 p.

UM DULUTH Library Book F612.I89 B726 2004

UM DULUTH Library NE MN Historical Center F612.I89

Cascade Lodge: The History of a North Shore Landmark, by Eugene A. Glader, Eugene A. Glader, Lutsen, Minn., 2005

UM DULUTH Library Book F612.C88 C444 2005

UM DULUTH Library NE MN Historical Center F612.C88 C444 2005

A Childhood in Minnesota: Exploring the Lives of Ojibwe and Immigrant Families, 1880s-1920s, by Helen L. Carlson, Linda LeGarde Grover, Daniel W. Anderson, and Bonnie A. Cusick. A.M. Chisholm Museum, 1994, 56 p.

UM DULUTH Library TMC E99.C6 C55 1994

UM DULUTH Library VOY E99.C6 C55 1994X

UM DULUTH Library NE MN Historical Center E99.C6C55 1994

Chippewa Music, by Frances Densmore. Washingon, Government Printing Office, 1910-1913, 2 volumes

Electronic Access volume 1 http://archive.org/details/chippewamusic00dens volume 2 http://books.google.com/books?id=Yl0SAAAAYAAJ&pg=PP7#v=onepage&q&f=false

      UM DULUTH Library Book E51 .U6

      UM DULUTH Library NE MN Historical Center E51. U6

      UM DULUTH Library VOY E51 .U6

      UM DULUTH Library American Indian Learning Resource Center E51 .U6

Genealogical Resources of the Minnesota Historical Society A Guide, second edition, by the Minnesota Historical Society, Library and Archives Division, Minnesota Historical Society Press, St. Paul, Minn., 1989; 68 p.; ill.

UM DULUTH Library Book Z605 .M5 1993X

UM DULUTH Library NE MN Historical Center Z1299.M67 1989

The Geological and Natural History Survey of Minnesota 1885-1901, University of Minnesota, State of Minnesota, 1895-1902, Vol. 1,2, 3 part I, II, 4-6.

UM DULUTH Library Book QE127 .A2

UM DULUTH Library NE MN Historical Center Folio QE127.A2

Growing Up in My Family: A Guide for Recording Information on Family History, by Helen L. Carlson, Linda LeGarde Grover, Daniel W. Anderson, and Bonnie A. Cusick. A.M. Chisholm Museum, 1994, 20 p.

UM DULUTH Library TMC E99.C6 C56 1994

UM DULUTH Library VOY E99.C6 C56 1994X

UM DULUTH Library NE MN Historical Center E99.C6C56 1994

Hard Work and a Good Deal: the Civilian Conservation Corps in Minnesota, by Barbara Sommer published by Minnesota Historical Society Press, St. Paul., 2008, vii, 205 p., ill., map.

UM DULUTH Library Book S932.M45 S66 2008

UM DULUTH Library NE MN Historical Center S932.M45 S66 2008

A History of Minnesota, by William Watts Folwell. Minnesota Historical Society, 1956, 4 volumes, ill., maps, ports., facsims.

UM DULUTH Library Book F606 .F679

UM DULUTH Library NE MN Historical Center F606 .F679

History of the Ojibway People, by William W. Warren. Minnesota Historical Society Press, St. Paul, Minnesota, 1984, 411 p.

UM DULUTH Library Book E99.C6 W32 2009

UM DULUTH Library Book E99.C6 W32 1984

UM DULUTH Library VOY E99.C6 W32 1984

UM DULUTH Library NE MN Historical Center E99.C6 W32 1984

History of the White Pine Industry in Minnesota, by Agnes M. Larson. University of Minnesota Press, Minneapolis, Minnesota, 1949, 432 p.

UM DULUTH Library Book SD397.P65 L3 2007

UM DULUTH Library NE MN Historical Center SD397.P65L3

Indians in Minnesota, fourth edition, by Elizabeth Ebbott for the League of Minnesota Voters of Minnesota. University of Minnesota Press, Minneapolis, Minnesota, 1985, 326 p.

UM DULUTH Library Book E78.M7 I53 1985

UM DULUTH Library NE MN Historical Center E78.M7 I53 1985

It was a good deal : the Civilian Conservation Corps in northeastern Minnesota : a guide to the Arrowhead Civilian Conservation Corps Document Project, edited by Edward P. Nelson, Barbara Sommer. Duluth, Minn. (506 W. Michigan St., Duluth): St. Louis Historical Society, 1987, 85 p., ill.

UM DULUTH Library Book S932.M45 I8 1987

UM DULUTH Library VOY S932.M45 I8 1987

UM DULUTH Library NE MN Historical Center S932.M45 I8 1987 or PAM1477

Lake Superior's Historic North Shore, by Deborah Morse-Kahn, Minnesota Historical Society Press, St. Paul, Minn., 2008, 194 p., ill., maps.

UM DULUTH Library Book F552 .M67 2008

UM DULUTH Library NE MN Historical Center F552 .M67 2008

Little Sketches of Big Folks, Minnesota 1907; an alphabetical list of representative men of Minnesota, with biographical sketches, St. Paul, Minn., R.L. Polk, 1907, 441p.

Electronic Access http://books.google.com/books?id=uJ8DAAAAYAAJ&pg=PP1#v=onepage&q&f=false

      UM DULUTH Library Book F605 .L77

      UM DULUTH Library NE MN Historical Center F605 .L77

      UM DULUTH Library VOY F605 .L77

Men of Minnesota; a collection of portraits of men prominent in business and professional life in Minnesota, St. Paul, the Minnesota Historical Company, 1902, 540p., illus.

Electronic Access http://archive.org/details/menofminnesotaco00minn http://books.google.com/books?id=wz0VAAAAYAAJ&pg=PP1#v=onepage&q&f=false

      UM DULUTH Library Book F605 .M53

      UM DULUTH Library NE MN Historical Center F605 .M53

1915 edition

Electronic Access http://books.google.com/books?id=R70vAQAAMAAJ&dq=men%20of%20minnesota%201915&pg=PP1#v=onepage&q=men%20of%20minnesota%201915&f=false

      UM DULUTH Library Book F605 .M532

Minnesota, A History of the State, by Theodore Christian Blegen, with new concluding chapter by Russell W. Fridley, University of Minnesota Press, Minneapolis, Minn., 1975, 731 p.

UM DULUTH Library Book F606 .B668 1975

UM DULUTH Library NE MN Historical Center F606 .B668 1975

Minnesota Eats Out: An Illustrated History, by Kathryn Strand Koutsky and Linda Koutsky; with recipes by Eleanor Ostman, Minnesota Historical Society Press, St. Paul, Minn., 2003, 213 p.

UM DULUTH Library Book TX909 .K68 2003

UM DULUTH Library NE MN Historical Center TX909 .K68 2003

Minnesota Geographic Names: Their Origin and Historic Significance, by Warren Upham, with introduction by James Taylor Dunn, Minnesota Historical Society, St. Paul, Minn., 1969, 788 p.

UM DULUTH Library REF F601 .M66

UM DULUTH Library NE MN Historical Center F606.U63 1969

Minnesota in a Century of Change: The State and Its People Since 1900, edited by Clifford E. Clark, Jr., Minnesota Historical Society Press, St. Paul, Minn., 1989, 607 p.

UM DULUTH Library NE MN Historical Center F606.5 .M56 198

Minnesota in Three Centuries: 1655-1908, edited by Lucius F. Hubbard and others. Publishing Society of Minnesota, New York, 1908, 4 volumes, fronts., plates, ports., maps.

UM DULUTH Library Book F606 .M664

UM DULUTH Library VOY F606 .M664

UM DULUTH Library NE MN Historical Center F606 .M664

Minnesota Logging Railroads, by Frank A. King, Golden West Books, San Marino, California, 1981, 206 p.

UM DULUTH Library VOY TF24.M6 K56 2003

UM DULUTH Library NE MN Historical Center TF24.M6 K56 2003

Minnesota Votes: Election Returns by County for Presidents, Senators, Congressmen, and Governors, 1857-1977, compiled by Bruce M. White, et. al. Minnesota Historical Society, St. Paul, Minn., 1977, 234 p.

UM DULUTH Library REF JK6193 1977 .W48

UM DULUTH Library NE MN Historical Center JK6193 1977.W48

National Register of Historic Places in Minnesota A Guide, compiled by Mary Ann Nord, forward by Larry Millett, Minnesota Historical Society Press, St. Paul, Minn., 2003, 337 p., ill.

UM DULUTH Library Book F607 .N38 2003

UM DULUTH Library NE MN Historical Center F607.N38 2003

The North Star State: A Minnesota History Reader, edited by Anne J. Aby; forward by Paul Gruchow, Minnesota Historical Society Press, St. Paul, Minn., 2002, 486 p., ill.

UM DULUTH Library Book F606.5 .N67 2002

UM DULUTH Library NE MN Historical Center F606.5.N67 2002

Northern Lights: Going to the Sources, by Stephen Sandall, Minnesota Historical Society Press, St. Paul, Minn., 1989, 215 p.

UM DULUTH Library TMC F606.3 .S367 1989X

UM DULUTH Library VOY F606.3 .S367 1989X

UM DULUTH Library NE MN Historical Center F606.3 .S36 1989

Northern Lights: The Stories of Minnesota’s Past, by Dave Kenney, investigations by Hillary Wackman and Nancy O'Brien Wagner, Minnesota Historical Society Press, St. Paul, Minn. 2nd edition, 2003, ix, 342 p., ill., maps.

UM DULUTH Library NE MN Historical Center F606.3 .K46 2003

Northern Lights: The Story of Minnesota's Past, by Rhoda R. Gilman, Minnesota Historical Society Press, St. Paul, Minn., 1989, 232 p.

UM DULUTH Library Book F606.3 .G55 1989X

UM DULUTH Library VOY F606.3 .G55 1989X

UM DULUTH Library NE MN Historical Center F606.3 .G55 1989

Northern Lights: Teacher's Edition, by Rhoda R. Gilman and Stephen Sandell. Minnesota Historical Society Press, St. Paul, Minnesota, 1989, 212 p.

UM DULUTH Library TMC F606.3 .W115 2003 (2nd ed.)

UM DULUTH Library NE MN Historical Center Folio F606.3.G552 1989

The Prehistoric Peoples of Minnesota, by Elden Johnson, Minnesota Prehistoric Archaeology Series, No. 3, Minnesota Historical Society, St. Paul, Minn., 1988, 35 p.

UM DULUTH Library Book E78.M7 J6 1988

UM DULUTH Library NE MN Historical Center PAM 581

Radicalism in Minnesota 1900-1960: A Survey of Selected Sources, by Carl Ross, project director of 20th-Century Radicalism in Minnesota Project, Minnesota Historical Society Press, St. Paul, Minn., 1994, 109 p.

UM DULUTH Library Book HN79.M53 R3 1994

UM DULUTH Library NE MN Historical Center Z7165.U6 M627 1994

Reference Guide to Minnesota History: A Subject Bibliography of Books, Pamphlets and Articles in English, complied by Michael Brook, Minnesota Historical Society, St. Paul, Minn., 1974, 132 p.

UM DULUTH Library Book F606 .B7X

UM DULUTH Library REF F606 .B7X

UM DULUTH Library NE MN Historical Center Z1299.B76

A Supplement to Reference Guide to Minnesota History: A Subject Bibliography, 1970-1980, by Michael Brook, Minnesota Historical Society, St. Paul, Minn., 1983, 69 p.

UM DULUTH Library REF F606 .B7X

UM DULUTH Library NE MN Historical Center Z1299.B76 1983

They Chose Minnesota: A Survey of the State's Ethnic Groups, edited by June Drenning Holmquist, Minnesota Historical Society, St. Paul, Minn., 1981, 614 p.

UM DULUTH Library Book F615.A1 T45

UM DULUTH Library REF F615.A1 T45

UM DULUTH Library VOY F615.A1 T45

UM DULUTH Library NE MN Historical Center F615.A1 T45

To Walk the Red Road: Memories of the Red Lake Ojibwe People, by the students of Project Reserve, Red Lake Board of Education, 1989, 114 p.

UM DULUTH Library VOY E99.C6 T62 1989X

UM DULUTH Library NE MN Historical Center E99.C6T62 1989

Voyageurs National Park: The Battle to Create Minnesota's National Park, by Fred T. Witzig, Forward by Elmer L. Andersen, University of Minnesota Press, Minneapolis, Minn., 2004, 301 p.

UM DULUTH Library Book F612.V6 W585 2004

UM DULUTH Library NE MN Historical Center F612.V6 W585 2004

Where Two Worlds Meet: The Great Lakes Fur Trade, by Carolyn Gilman, Minnesota Historical Society, St. Paul, Minn., 1982, 136 p.

UM DULUTH Library Book HD9944.U46 G744 1982

UM DULUTH Library VOY HD9944.U46 G744 1982

UM DULUTH Library NE MN Historical Center HD9944.U46 G744 1982

Who's Who in Minnesota, compiled by C. N. Cornwall, Minnesota Editorial Association, 1942, 1239 p.

UM DULUTH Library REF F605 .W6

UM DULUTH Library VOY F605 .W64

UM DULUTH Library NE MN Historical Center F605 .W64

Who's Who in Minnesota Centennial Edition, edited by Bernice White, Hugh L. White publisher, Brown Printing Co., Waseca, Minnesota, 1958, 575 p.

UM DULUTH Library Book F605 .W642X

UM DULUTH Library REF F605 .W642X

UM DULUTH Library NE MN Historical Center F605 .W642 1958

Wild Rice and the Ojibway People, by Thomas Vennum, Jr., Minnesota Historical Society, St. Paul, Minn., 1988, 357 p.

UM DULUTH Library Book E99.C6 V46 1988

UM DULUTH Library VOY E99.C6 V46 1988

UM DULUTH Library NE MN Historical Center E99.C6 V46 1988

Women in "Minnesota History" [quarterly magazine of the Minnesota Historical Society] 1915-1990: An Annotated Bibliography of Articles Pertaining to Women, compiled by Bonnie Beatson Palmquist. Minnesota Historical Society Press and Education Department, St. Paul, Minnesota, 1991, 8 p.

UM DULUTH Library NE MN Historical Center PAM 1546

 

Women's History in Minnesota: A Survey of Published Sources and Dissertations, compiled by Jo Blatti, Minnesota Historical Society Press, St. Paul, Minn., 1993, 123 p.

UM DULUTH Library Book HQ1438.M6 B55 1993X

UM DULUTH Library NE MN Historical Center HQ1438.M6B55 1993x

 

The WPA Guide to Minnesota, compiled and written by the Federal Writers’ Project of the Works Progress Administration, Minnesota Historical Society, St. Paul, Minn., 1985, 539 p., ill.

UM DULUTH Library Book F606 .W86 1985

UM DULUTH Library NE MN Historical Center P606.W86 1985

 







Site Coordinator: Kathryn A. Martin Library

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip